No announcement yet.

Are Car PC's dead?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are Car PC's dead?

So, perhaps a controversial question, but i'm interested what people think.

I've been building car PCs for myself for about 7 years, from my first boot mounted 486, to the latest single DIN unit. But sadly i've just replaced it with a Kenwood KVT-729, KNA-G520 Nav add on & 20G USB HDD attached.

I get everything i wanted from my original reason to build a car PC.
    - Large music library
    - Easy (touch screen) interface
    - Navigation
    - AV (DVD, reverse cam...)

When i started there was nothing like this comercially available, but things have moved on. It was interesting & rewarding do ing these iterations. But it has to be said, what i have now is no more expensive, much more reliable, boots instantly & integrated without any fuss.

Unless you actually want the satisfaction of building it, or want a very custom solution, I dont see the point any more.

Comments welcome....

IF there exists a unit out there, that does exactly what you want

and IF it's as cheap as an alternative

and IF you're not in it for the experience,

then yes, i'd obviously have to agree.

I personally, am in it for the experience

Here's how I see it.

Are they dead? No, not at all...
      Products like the Infill models will serve a select group, yes. They are for the "average joe". Eventually, there will be other, similar products on the market.

However, there are the hobbyists that are going to use custom installs to take PCs to the next level. The custom builders are going to be able to do things that the G4 wouldn't be able to touch.

The G4 and similar units are going to be sold as a base unit with options: OBD-II, bluetooth, USB soundcard for connection to external amps, etc. IT's probaboly as close as you can get to a "plug-n-play" vehicle computer.