help? jetway c7 - disc read error

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help? jetway c7 - disc read error

I'll start by saying I am not a computer expert. I don't care how obvious something may seem to you; I may have overlooked it so ANY suggestion you may have will be helpful to me.

Here's some background:
    A few months ago I bought a new, never used carPC from another user on the forum. I told him I wanted to purchase this ebay auction: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...2204&rd=1&rd=1 and he told me that he could sell me the same setup with a M1 PSU, 256 MB PC2 4200 ram, a hard drive and a slim DVD. I bought it from him, but broke the hard drive before I got around to installing it. Last weekend I purchased a new hard drive (fujitsu MHV2100AT - 100 GB 4200 RPM).

Here's my problem:
    I could not install Windows XP Home on this computer. It would copy the files from the disc to the installation folders, then says it had completed that portion of the install and it has to restart then continue installation. It gave me a 15 sec. timer to remove disks from drive A (I do not have a drive A) then restarted, but would not boot from the hard drive, and eventually needed to boot from disc. BIOS was set to boot from hard drive first and second then cd drive third. I also tried disabling the second and third boot options only giving it the option of hard drive. Still nothing. So I gave up on that and put the hard drive in my Gateway Laptop and installed XP no problems. I put the hard drive back into the CarPC and it goes to boot up and I get the error message "a disc read error has occurred. press ctrl+alt+del to restart." And that's it.

A few other things to note: