Ok, new car and new computer HELP

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok, new car and new computer HELP

Hey, well, i have been using this board for like 2 years now, and after building a couple car computers myself, I have finally decided to take on the ultimate project - a complete car rebuild fully operated by a computer.

I have a 1964 1/2 mustang that I am in the process of completely rebuilding. I want the computer to do everything from AC, heat, gps, music, movies...everything.

Does anyone have any suggestions for the start of this project? I have moderate experience at this, and again, have built a couple - i won the science fair using this site a couple of years ago.

I expect a few problems: the mustang dash is going to be tough, i do not want the installation to be modest, nothing off the wall - it needs to be clean, and preferably, just a touch screen with an indash install. I do not believe fiberglass is the way to go, any suggestions?

Since it is a ground up restoration, it will be easy to install everything; i will just build the interior around it. Does anyone have any computer case suggestions? Should i build a box, or integrated into the trunk or the dash?

Any tips on controlling AC/heat/head lights/windshield wipers, etc?

anything would be great
    -andrew

yer gonna need a lot of microcontrollers...
    Car: 2000 Audi A4 Avant 1.8t
    Carputer 2.0: removed. Back to stock.

Comment

plastic injected dash? costly but its not fiberglass.
      Why no fiberglass?
      Originally posted by menudude
      thank you all for your help minus the useless post by sjlucky...

Comment

i figured that being primarily a metal showing dash, that fiberglass would have a hard time bonding - i have no experience with fiberglass, i was just told that it would not be practical. would it be easy to cut out a large hold in the dash, fiberglass around my custom controls and TFT?

Comment