n00b looking to get some tools

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• n00b looking to get some tools

So im pretty new to electronics and what not, and im looking to get some good newbie tools to start off. Im looking to get a good solder pencil and solder (no more butt plugs!), and a good wire stripper (no more razor blade!), and perhaps a tool to test voltage in a circuit.

Any reccommend any online sites or chain stores to pick these tools?
    I know i can use google, but im looking for peoples favorites stores

Butt SPLICE! SPLICE!!

Good place to get the basics is at a Radio Shack. That is, if you live in the States.
    The ALEXIS Project
    MP3---VIDEO---GPS---REARVIEW---OBD---SKINNING
    Color Coding :
    DONE / MOSTLY DONE / BASE FEATURES / WORKING CONCEPT / NO CODE COMPLETED

Comment

as deadweasel said: Radio Shack would be a good place to check
      also http://www.allelectronics.com if you buy stuff online.
      Danny.

"If today was perfect, there would be no need for tomorrow."
      My Car Project® ‹== !10.4" Allbrite, touchscreen, epia, 150opus, gps, wireless, sony remote [old] 128x64 Crystalfontz +double din [new]

Comment

Originally posted by souljetta
        good wire stripper (no more razor blade!), and perhaps a tool to test voltage in a circuit.

Isn't that what teeth are for? They are insulated too. I once stripped a 50V AC wire with my teeth. Needless to say I forgot to turn it off. Bit, teeth insulated the electricity, but as soon as my tongue touched the wires, I lost feeling in my tongue for the next few days. i could eat all the hot sauce I wanted then.

Kids, don't do it at home
        - Lwin M. Maung
        If it's stuck, force it. If it breaks it needed replacing anyway

Comment

Holy crap! Yeah, that will give your tongue immortality! I stripped a live phone wire with my teeth once, and touched it with the tongue. Instant buzz factor! Not as bad as the 50v, but holy crap was my tongue numb for a couple days!