This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Don't Use MSCONFIG - Use This!

I know I'm a newb here, but I see msconfig recommended a lot to change how your system starts up. To the best of my knowledge, msconfig is not meant for this. It's meant for testing purposes only and actual changes are supposed to be made through the registry manually.

That said, there is a solution. Go to this link (Nirsoft) and download StartupRun from the utilities section. IMHO, it works better than msconfig anyways. Best thing about it is it requires no installation.

Nirsoft also has a plethora of other useful programs. Check em out!

(EDIT) Try their program MyUninstaller. I use it instead of Add/Remove Programs, it's also an excellent program that requires no install.

Are you their advertising whore?

Comment

Wow, thanks for that. Really what someone wants to hear when they are trying to become a useful part of a new community.

I saw Nirsoft on TechTV if you must know. I really do believe they make a good product. I have no affiliation with them at all. Why don't you give em a try before making a comment like that.

Comment

Everyone:

You may be thinking that this is spam, but he's right. Msconfig may appear to be an indispensible utility for managing the programs that start with Windows, and it may actually do just that, but trust me, all is not as it seems or is.

Comment

Moreover, StartupRun is a good program. And can cut my startup time by 5 seconds
          ,./(0)3

'04 Canyon 4x4 pickup

[---PC on hold----working on external fiberglass "tool" box---]

Comment

no he doesn't look like a spammer.. looks like a valid post to me. He is the guy that did the 3d skin
            '98 Explorer Sport
            http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
            AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
            80% done

Comment