pci hdtv tuner questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pci hdtv tuner questions

i was thinking that since hdtv reception is a lot cleaner than the regular analog reception, maybe in a car situation it would work better if i could put in one of those pci hdtv tuner cards sold by ati or avermedia.

If it is possible what would i need (im a noob when it comes to hdtv)

will i need to get one of those hdtv tuner boxes to tune the stations or will the card do that on its own? a regular antennnae to recieve the signal? or anything else..
    I wish i knew how to do fiberglass work...

If youre only using the analog antenna as input, what is the point of displaying it in hi def? It won't take the fuzz out!

The card will tune stations, but they dont come with an antenna, they just have coaxial input to plug the tv cable in. In a car, the only thing you could plug in is an antenna.
    Carputer status: [-*---------]
    Im thinking laptop...

Comment

then how would i go about tuning in those free Over the Air digital signals?

Comment

Originally posted by theheel
        Just a regular tv tuner card, hi def is unnecessary with ANALOG signals, which is what comes over the air. While it may improve analog and non hi def digital signal clarity, the only thing that will make the tv signal stronger with an antenna is a signal booster.
        Im thinking laptop...

Comment

Originally posted by theheel
          Do these exist?...
          Im thinking laptop...

Comment

Apparently so.... but they havent rolled it out completely yet.
            http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/digitaltv.html
            Receiving DTV signals over the air requires an antenna and a new DTV receiver that can decode the digital signals. In general, an antenna that provides quality reception of over-the-air analog TV signals will work for DTV reception.
            Im thinking laptop...

Comment

Originally posted by shizzle