Making a internal drive external

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making a internal drive external

Okay, I am very new at computers, I love them, but am not hip on the lingo yet. I am going to attempt to install a DVD-Rom drive (Pioneer slot load to be exact) somewhere close to my dash while the casing of the cpu is in the trunk. My question was if I am going to run into any problems doing this. One of the problems that come to mind is that I will be losing a bit of voltage and or signal since it has to travel a long distance (about 10-12feet). One other question, have ya'll had luck with the Pioneers? I am mainly concerned about it skipping whenever I hit bumps. Any and all info is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    I have a 2001 Prelude. bone stock (gimme a break, it is brand new)
    I am looking to start the install very soon.

Your best bet would be to get an Internal to external case. They convert the IDE signal to USB or Firewire. Since it is a DVD drive I am not sure how Firewire would hold up, 24 MB/sec should be good enough but may not be. Here is an idea of what to look for. External case
    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/Maveric/ M.A.V.I.C. System
    Asus MB, PII 266, 192 MB Ram, 6.8" LCD, 6 Disk CD-ROM, 21 Gig HD, All-in-Wonder Video w/ TV Tuner, Irman, Windows ME, Winamp, Cobra III -- All in a custom acrylic case.

http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/listings/ MP3car Listings - Please add to it! :)

Comment

Hey... Love your nickname, "Jenny"

~m

[ 12-06-2001: Message edited by: dos4who? ]
      PII 266, 512 MB RAM, 10 Gig, 36x CD-ROM, 16x DVD, DeLorme GPS, 5.6" LCD Screen, Dschmidt power controller, Keypower ATX DC-DC Supply, PowerAmp Macro controller, Dauphin mini-Kbd.
      Sony Head Unit, Sony Unilink input selector, rear deck Kenwood 6x9's, stock door spkrs... All in my '96 Civic, of course :}
      BC ROCKS!!!

Comment