ALK CoPilot Laptop 11

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ALK CoPilot Laptop 11

ALK released new version 11. I haven't seen anyone discussing it at this forum, but in the past I read user comments about previous versions, so I know there are some people using it around here ! Few days ago I received a review copy from ALK, and since then I've spent some time familiarizing myself with it. I noticed map data improvement, and the user interface has changed noticeably, too. I think it is better for a new user now.

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ar4tP5sUBAI[/media]

I attempted to do a short video clip to show the fast refresh rate of the screen. People used to 1Hz will like the new smooth map movement. (Sorry, this is my first attempt to create a video clip, and there is no sound.)

I agree they have made changes that greatly improve there product I use there laptop 11 truck. But what I noticed is the same problem there map data is still miles behind navteq and tele atlas they need to use one of those to for there map data because theres stinks.

Comment

For their European and Australian versions they actually do use Navteq. It's just only us here in North America who are stuck with ALK's own data. I wonder if one of the reasons for ALK not using Navteq is that ALK's own data is (still) super to Navteq in the area of large vehicle routing.

Comment

I've used copilot laptop 7 and currently using 10. My biggest complaints are the following:

interface doesn't scale well for small screens. At 800x600, I've had POI box pop-up beyond the edge of the screen.

I cannot pick a destination based on a point on the map. Other GPS units call this "Navigate Here". Strangely, one of the navigation option is to enter LAT/LONG coordinates.