Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vehicle speed converter

Hi..

i want to design a vehicle speed converter for car which takes speed signal from ECU of car and convert it to digital format. i don't have car. i don't know what kind of speed signal come out from the ECU of car. I am an Electrical and Electronic engineer. i have experience developing electronic circuit. I want to know the voltage VS speed waveform diagram of the ECU speed out put. Can anybody help me?

Any idea what car or ECU model you are designing for? This would probably help people answer your question.
    Originally posted by ghettocruzer
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment

Dear Bugbyte,

Thank you for your reply.

Proton, Isuzu cars. is different car use different technologies? I have no idea ECU models.

Thanks again

kirupa

Comment

Frequency to voltage is easy enough (LM2907/LM2917), and many speed transducers are pulse types - eg Nissans use a 10 pole sensor on the box (20 pulses per cable rev?) and they can be fitted to (older) Isuzus.

Isuzu often use a reed switch mounted in the speedo (I'm not kidding - and it lasts for hundreds of thousands of miles/km!).

As to digital....

Comment

Dear OldSpar,

I didn't get answer for my question. i want to know what kind of speed signal come out from the ECU of car?

1) is this pulse? ( different speed has different frequency)
          2) is this linear voltage? ( different speed has different voltage)

Thanks

Comment

Hmmmmmmmmmmm....we don't have Protons stateside. Perhaps you can get a pic of one so we can figure out the corresponding model and go from there?

Comment

Originally posted by kirupa View Post