Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USB Car Controller

Just wanted to get some feedback for the project im thinking of making

Basically its a complete Car-Computer interface.
    My Car doesnt have OBD II so i though i would make something for my self (I should be able to im doing a degree in EE!)

Basically the idea is based around this
    http://www.dlpdesign.com/dlp-2232pbv10.pdf

This is a USB to microchip interface and comes with source code to reprogram it.

As standard it allows control of the outputs, reading of voltages from 5 A/D and interfaces with some cheap temperature sensors - DS18S20

Basically i was planning to add to this a microchip I/O expander to give 16 relay outputs (uses only two i/o pins of above device)

A RPM monitering function

A nitrous controller (uses PWM to control flow of nitrous into engine and cuts nitrous if any engine sensors go out of range)

Another feature that i want to include is servo control to allow the thing to control the sliders of old school style temperature things (mainly coz where i want to put my screen means i have to remove em) and of course it will control the other A/C controls

Thats it for now im sure i will think of more as i build the thing, maybe a toaster function or something

The only problem im having at the moment is getting one of these things, there $50 over in the states but 59 here!!. Unfortunatly the company (in the states) i want to buy it from wont take my crappy maestro card!

SO, watcha think?

You do realize that if you were to have your nitrous boost on when your computer crashes, you're going to burn up your engine....
    Explain that one to the insurance company....

I'm not saying that the idea isn't cool. It's probably even very doable. Just be aware of the risks involved.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Comment