Variable Resistor Controller?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Variable Resistor Controller?

Is this possible? What would be easiest? USB? Serial? Parallel? Only solution I could think of (im no electrical engineer) was motorized pot's and use a serial/usb/parallel controller to adjust them, but that seems like a strange way to do it. Anyone know an easier way? (schematics too preferabily)
    - Vorex Out

Search for digital potentiometers. They are digitally controllable variable resistor ICs. Digikey has a wide variety of them for a couple bucks. Interfacing with a PC can be done through any of the usual suspects.

Comment

so the easiest way would be using the digital i/o's of phigets? Will they be capable of controlling digital pots?
      - Vorex Out

Comment

I guess 'easiest' is in the eye of the beholder. Personally, I'd wire it up to the parallel port, but I've experiance doing that so it would be easy for me to do again (besides, phidgets are pricey.) For others, phidgets may be an easier way to go.

Comment

For the digital pots, all you need is 2 digital i/o's for up and down. You could use anything. Pihdgets is one way to go, but mushin is right, you would be better off going with a parellel port.

And of course, did you wanna use your computer for it, or can this be physically done? Two buttons would do the same job, but you wouldn't have control over it through an application.

Speaking of an application, you can use wizardpc's app for the parellel port relay card if I'm not mistaken.
          2000 Subaru OBS

Dell P3 @ 900 Mhz
          7" Lilliput TS w/DigitalWW in-dash mount
          80GB External HD

I am Zero Bitrate....

Comment

relays can be wired to a digital pot? I thought it needed some special i/o that phidgets have--if so i'll get that relay card monday because that website's storefront is only 20min from here....
            - Vorex Out

Comment