Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can sensors be added to the computer?

Hi,

I'm thinking of intergrating a pc into my new caravan (or rv to you). Meaning I can control all my music, dvds, internet, gps etc from one place whilst on holiday. Then I got thinking some more. And I thought, maybe I can intergrate some features into it that work with the caravan. For example, having a rod in the fresh tank, connected to the PC to tell me how much water I had left, or some sort of switch/acutator that turned on something when I pressed a button on the PC. I am a complete newbie to all this In-Car stuff at the moment, and still reading up on a lot of it. However, I just would like your opinion on whether its possible to intergrate water-level sensors into the system, and how this would be done. Other items I was thinking of was Battery Voltage meter and waste tank level.

I would appreciate your comments/thoughts.

Kind Regards.

A little more..

Just to expand on my previous ideas..

After some more research, I have found out about the X10 Home Automation Products and the Computer Interface Module you can buy to go with them. A lot of appliances in the caravan are 240v as well as 12v, so I think this would be a handy piece of the system to control the 240 items such as water heater, battery charger, awning power outlets etc. It seems once the system is installed and intergrated with the computer, you control it thru a program called "harmony". However, I don't really want to keep having to flick thru different programs to do certain things, I'd rather it was all in one front end, so would it be possible to use a frontend such as roadrunner to control certain functions of the home automation system?

Kind Regards

Comment

Take a look at this:
      http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/fusi...ion-brain.html
      Christmas Car Project 2008

ArrowDash Skin Worklog

Comment

Cheers