This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to solder on this switch?

I am trying to connect 2 wire to the existing switch to make an external switch. When I try to solder to these points, the solder does not stick. I am pretty sure the points are made of solder that I am trying to solder the wires to. Does anyone know why they are not attaching, or what I can do to get them attached?

Thanks (this is my first time soldering, though I practiced beforehand).
    Attached Files

jump any 2... either it'll start or it won't.... repeat as necissary..... when you find 2 that start it, you solder there

there is no danger of hurting it...
    MY NEWEST INSTALL:modded infiniti fx with big screen

first windows carpc install........my liquid cooled LVDS screen :D

Comment

make sure the connection points are clean, apply flux to the points of contact, put flux on the soldering iron, make sure you heat the solder the point you want soldered not the solder itself. good luck
      REBUILDING!!

Comment

ps, the solder points are the little brown legs you drew...

tin a wire tip, touch it to the leg, then heat just until the soldered tinned wire tip melt's & pull the iron away..... hold it still for a few seconds, then tug slightly to make sure it's a decent connection...

Comment

flux can be ok, but I wouldn't use it here, everything should be clean aready, & you don't want to transfer much heat...

Comment

When I try to solder to these points, the solder does not stick
            yeah I was just suggesting the flux cause he said he was having problems getting it to stick
            REBUILDING!!

Comment

I think he's not soldering in the right spot, the little brown legs he drew is where to solder, & you have to tin the tip of the wire first...,

Comment