Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NooB Question about powering a laptop using M2-ATX

Hi All,

I am planning to gear up my own Carputer using my old Acer Laptop.
    I have been searching and reading a lot of forum posts for my question.

I found many people placing laptops for carpcs and they have excellent solutions for auto power up / shutdown.

From what all i have learned till now i have tried to put up a design to power my laptop, screen and devices
    I will be using M2-ATX (instead of CarNetix 1900) incase my laptop dies and i have to switch to a PC.

Question i have is

When i power down Ignition of my car, the laptop will still be connected to the Car battery from M2-ATX. Thus laptop will continuously draw power from car battery to charge laptop battery. Wont it kill my car battery?
    Or M2-ATX cuts the power to the laptop when ignition is cut off.

Consider me a total noob in powering

Thanks a lot

Unless you have a notebook which charges/works from 12V, M2ATX will not be able to power it. Most laptops which I'm aware requires and input of 19V which M2ATX is not designed to generate.

Carnetix 1900 is your best bet if you are using a laptop. If you are on a budget, a Car adapter for the laptop may be a good deal but it would be limited when compared to Carnetix 1900

Comment

Originally posted by DigitalVampire View Post
      Unless you have a notebook which charges/works from 12V, M2ATX will not be able to power it. Most laptops which I'm aware requires and input of 19V which M2ATX is not designed to generate.
      That is why i am adding a 12v-19v DC Car Adapter for Laptop

Originally posted by DigitalVampire View Post
      Carnetix 1900 is your best bet if you are using a laptop. If you are on a budget, a Car adapter for the laptop may be a good deal but it would be limited when compared to Carnetix 1900