Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Laptop Remote/External Power Switch Mod - NEED HELP!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laptop Remote/External Power Switch Mod - NEED HELP!

Hello guys, I am currently trying to follow WarDriver's Simple and Clean Remote Laptop Power Switch (http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/how-...-switch-3.html). I just took apart the laptop bezel and i've reached somewhat of a brick wall. I have little experience in soldering, so this only makes it tougher. The contact pads where I am supposed to solder are EXTREMELY SMALL and almost covered up by the button itself! The picture below is not great, but hopefully you can see what i'm talking about.

Is it those little points on the corner that i would solder to, after testing the continuity? This is going to be a major pain in the *** lol.

And this is a very close-up picture of the button as well

Comment

Originally posted by azngujuonfire View Post

Is it those little points on the corner that i would solder to, after testing the continuity? This is going to be a major pain in the *** lol.
      Testing continuity will answer your own question.

Depending on how the button is set up, you might be able to get away with only using one contact and have the other lead from your external switch go to laptop ground. You'll... have to test continuity.
      Tidder

Try RevFE
      The best resurrected frontend I've ever used, period.

I Wish I could ban people

Comment

ha, yeah i'll be testing continuity shortly after i get home. The points are so small and almost hidden under the square that houses the button. There is barely any space under the button also.

Ok so for the soldering portion, would i tin the wires and then heat the contacts and hold the tinned wire to it as it heats? What would happen if the solder also touched the metal square? I'm worried this may happen since there is so little room

Comment