Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Help Wiring Power To Touchscreen(Newbie)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help Wiring Power To Touchscreen(Newbie)

Hello all I am doing my first install, so I am new at all of this. I am in the planning stage but I have purchased my first piece today ( 1.33ghz Intel D201GLY, M2-ATX, 512 RAM) I am trying to make the decision on what kind of touchscreen to go with I have a 2004 dodge durango slt with the regular radio but the durangos also come with a model that already has a nav unit in the dash so that bezel will also fit my vehicle. what I am asking is how would i go about wiring the touchscreen to the power wiring already in my dash, I have been searching the forums for about a week in a half now and I cant find clear enough directions on how to do this. What wire to splice and so on. could someone please assist me with this. I am leaning toward a liliput 7" screen but people are leaning me toward a flip out touchscreen because the wiring is easier but i would like to put a screen in that is not a flip out. thanx for any help I can get

I'd recommend powering the screen from the same psu that runs the pc. This should be (somewhat)cleaner and more stable power than what runs through the rest of the vehicle. I noticed a LOT less screen noise/interference once I powered my lilliput from the Opus150 instead of the vehicle's power.

Comment

Thanx for your advice, what i need to know is most of the touchscreens out there just like the one I am looking into use a cigarette style power cable so that means i would have to cut the end off and splice wires correct? but what connections do i make or is there somewhere to buy a connector that is already spliced and just connect.

Comment