Where to mount a screen?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to mount a screen?

I have, quite possibly, _the_ worst car for this. All I know is I do not want the screen mounted on top of the dashboard. I have never used bondo before, but I suppose I could learn. Right now, I'm considering a motorized screen, but I haven't heard such great things about those, and I don't find them very attractive. If someone knows of one that works well and reliably please let me know. Below is a stock photo of my car's dashboard.

I'm thinking of either a motorized screen in the single-DIN slot, or maybe fabbing it in and moving the vents... somewhere. An absolute last resort would be to put the screen where the dashboard box is (it's much too low to see well). Any suggestions are welcome.

Thank you!

That looks like a tough one :-)

But since you asked, and opinions are free:

1) Use a non motorized Xenarc !DT 700 ? If you mount it where the single din opening is conventionaly (upright), its gonna block the two center AC vents. This may or may not be a bad thing as the current "high brightness" one that I have does get pretty hot on hot days.
    The benefit being that you avoid all the "motorized" hassels. Its manual, works well and isnt gonna break under normal use.
    Im not sure if ther is a way to mount one upside down and flip the video image, but if there was you would be good to go.