Pop-out (1 DIN) sunlight viewable?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pop-out (1 DIN) sunlight viewable?

I always hate when my first post in a new forum is something that will likely be answered by "Search, newb!"

But I have, oh how I have...

The problem is a Miata. A '92 to be exact, in which I've been using a Fujitsu Stylistic 3400 tablet for the past couple years. It's a big ugly thing that sits on a post just off the transmission tunnel and makes people ask if I'm a cop. My primary use for the machine is actually as a tuning interface (I'm running a Megasquirt ECU, and a variety of other doo-dads such as a USB oscilloscope) rather than for playing MP3s, navigation, and all that jazz. So I'm a newcomer to the mainstream CarPC "scene", but an old hand at the problems of mounting a computer in a car.

I'm trying to come up with something a bit less intrusive. Here's what the current setup looks like: http://img37.picoodle.com/img/img37/...1m_de03666.jpg

The PC side of things is easy. I've got enough old tablets and laptops casting about that I can easy cannibalize one and mount it in the trunk. But the display is killing me. Although the car has a 2DIN space, the lower half of it is taken up with electronics that would be hard to find a new home for. That, and the shifter kills the view of the lower half of that space. What I do have is a single space in which I'd like to mount a pop-out style monitor. And herein lies the rub.

The car's a convertible, and the top is almost always down. Even with the "sunlight-viewable" display on my current tablet, readability is almost a joke. Of course, the Stylistic was old technology even when it was new. Now, I see that there are some interesting 7" displays out there, like the 1000nit Xenarc and the various transflective Lilliputs, but nothing of the sort in a pop-out form-factor.