No announcement yet.

Old Touchscreen possible to use in car?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old Touchscreen possible to use in car?

Hey there

I may have a (reading from model) touchscreen, model AXP-T/S CLI 0495 from AMX corporation. Its former use was to control lights/mics in a lecture theatre. I was wondering if a screen like this is possible to use as an in-car touchscreen.

On the back it has RS232 , then a plug with 8 pins (8x2) labelled from left to right Ground, AXM, AXP, Power, and then i have a power socket for 12Vdc, 1.5A.

Im aware that theoretically, u can connect RS232 to just about anything, and 12V 1.5A would run ok in a car. But i was just wondering has anyone else ever bastardised old touchscreens like this and modded them to good use?

cheers.

EDIT: i just wanted to say, i am a total newbie to anything in car PC related, touchscreens, touchscreen software etc, so i hope to not make anyone frustrated by any ignorance i may show. That said, i am half way through a double comp sys eng / comp sci degree, so i have a basic fundamental knowledge of electronics systems.

Originally posted by Blue_muppet
    On the back it has RS232 , then a plug with 8 pins (8x2) labelled from left to right Ground, AXM, AXP, Power, and then i have a power socket for 12Vdc, 1.5A.
    Hmm. RS232 for the touch controller. Ground. Power. AXM and AXP are probably the mics and lights, I guess. But for it to be of use to you, it will need one more major connector. Video signal!

Comment

it is just the touchscreen or the screen (VGA) plus the touchscreen glass?

the RS232 should be the touch controller, as said by eCar. look AMX for drivers and you should be set.
      -Mars

Comment