Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP LAPTOP screen

Hi,
    So i ve been reading on the forums on extending a laptop screen and I think i can start with mine. I have many issues though. The ribbon connecting the motherboard to the laptop screen has ripped so i need to replace it. I was going to use wires and try to solder them because then I can extend the screen too. Also the connection to the mobo has come off, I was going to solder the wires straight to the mobo. Good idea/ bad idea? What kind of wires do i need to use and where can i get them.

Thanks,
    A total noob

hack apart a cat 5/6 network cable and use that, but good luck this is a tricky thing to get right and remember its not just the signal there will probably be some type of back light as well
    Nano ITX / 512 MB / 60 GB / Panasonic slot load / M1-ATX / Bu303 / Sound blaster 24 / PPi amps / rockford sub

Comment

cat 5 will work something sheilded would be better though! Hack apart a monitor extention cable.
      [COLOR=Navy][SIZE=1][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Tektility

Comment

I'm interested in knowing more about extending the lcd, Do you guys know if there is a FAQ or thread that covers this in more detail? Thanks,

c4shm0ney
        01 Metro LSI
        79hp 41MPG Highway
        Check my progress
        http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=51295

Comment

In order to get specifics you have to give specifcs for what you want to do!

what is the model of the laptop, size and type of screen?

Comment