Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• StarVision VGA LCD displays

Hey all:

I am new to the MP3Car forums. I have a W-Body Grand Prix, like one of the other members on this site, and I would like to do a carPuter setup. I am shooting for a nForce 2 MicroATX setup with a power invertor right now running AMD Sempron w/ 1 gig of ram and a combo drive. NewEgg has a very nice InWin case that is pretty small (and tight for space) that might fit my glove box. I would really like a MicroATX case that fits in my glove box, otherwise it's going under the passanger seat with a power invertor and some L-Brackets to keep it moutner to the floorboard with a small piece of LDF fiberboard or 1/8" thick plywood.

Anyways:

Has anyone tried the Starvision VGA LCD Screen? (http://www.starvision.us/). They have 3 models available, one having a physical resolution of 1280x234. Anyone try these? I have a Starvision "Pixelon" flip-down lcd that works pretty well and has very good image quality and viewing angles.

Since there is only one 1.5 din opening, and I have a full system installed currently, I think I could really only mount a monitor using the dash (not going to happen) or usign a gooseneck. Any of the current monitors work with a gooseneck to the best of your knowledge? I am thinking about mounting the neck to the passanger seat. Pyle audio sells a gooseneck in 3 different heights.

I could remove the cigerette tray and place a flip out, but the problem is that the screen could only come out if I placed the shifter all the way back into drive or 1. And the fact that the Xenarc is $550 for a screen is also a bit much to swallow. From what I've read ther Lilliput monitors suck in daylight and have poor brightness/contrast. That is my biggest grip with car LCD's uin general - they are horrid in quality vs. standard LCD computer monitors or even LCD TV's for the home enviornment. The best LCD's I've used in the car are LUXMA's.