Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which is the best 7"?

Hi Folks,

Big Noob here. I have no experience with these monitors. There are lots to choose from and I have only seen one "monitor" in a car...and it was a Garmin GPS. I would like to mount something in the dash...either directly on the surface, or in a pop-out (non-motorized). Seven to eight inches would be best for my application. What do y'all think is the best price/performance out there?

Also, I see that there are lots of ways to provide regulated power. To purchase something that connects directly to battery power, is there a vendor of choice? I don't want to get into using my PC power supply, or building something I have to put in a separate case. I just want to purchase a P/S (automotive +12 Vdc) and hook it up to the battery.

Thanks, I appreciate your input...

Regards,
    -- Scott
    -- Scott

Lilli ******* Put!

Comment

Usually these screens need regulated 12V... so hooking them directly to the battery could fry them ! Either use a regulator or the 12V from the computer's PSU.

Do a little of search.... this is the most discussed subject in here...
      Via Epia M10000 / 512 DDR / 10gigs 3.5 HD / M1-ATX / Innovatek 7" TS Screen
      Trunk fiberglassing in progress...
      Need GPS / Aux Input / WiFi

My Corolla Computer

Comment

The way I've percieved it is that Lilliput is great, but Xenarc's are even better (but at a premium!)...
        depends on your budget, I guess.
        1995 Ford Mustang Convertible
        DSATX | Shuttle XPC SN41G2Bv2 | 619GL-70NP | CF 1.6 (which is still unusable in the car!)

Comment

Personally I found the best screen to be the one that suits your need and that you found by a little searching.

But...
          If you need a screen monuted in a case Liliput is best for price, Xenarc for quality.