Cheap 4X40 LCD

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cheap 4X40 LCD

Could/Would this work as an alternative for the EIO display?

Use this display - $7.95 ea (no backlight)
    http://www.mpja.com/product.asp?product=12295+OP

And add a flourescent blue backlight - $5.50
    http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...65B&type=store

and miniature 12 volt inverter - $10.95
    http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...576&type=store

The total would only cost - $24.40
    1999 voyager pontoon boat
    (soon to be computerized)

It looks good but I am new to this mp3car and dont have much exerience with things like this. I dont know how hard it is to add your own baclight. I also dont know how trust worthy these places are. Do they ship quickly and have good support.

Comment

EIO wasn't a trusty place at all to buy..

But we still bought like hundreds off them.
      And I never heard off someone who didn't get their display..

So I think we shouldn't be that scared in buying things..

About adding your own backlight..
      There's this site about a guy who made a complete DIY-page about this...
      Complete with pictures, do's and dont's
      But I can't find it at the moment sorry..
      Maybe someone else knows what I'm talking about.

Greetz
      Raas - The Netherlands
      ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
      GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

Comment

The site Mark is talkin about could be this one: Http://intergrated.mp3car.com and goto the hardware section . There you'l find some info on the backlight (el).

Peter3
        PETER - THE NETHERLANDS - DEVENTER
        sproggy 2.8,epia c3-800,20Gb 2.5", 5.6"lcd,touchscreen.

Comment

Originally posted by peter3:
          <STRONG>The site Mark is talkin about could be this one: Http://intergrated.mp3car.com and goto the hardware section . There you'l find some info on the backlight (el).

Peter3</STRONG>
          Correction:

http://integrated.mp3car.com