*HELP* Trying to figure out what I need to install

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• *HELP* Trying to figure out what I need to install

Hi. Im new to all of the car audio and computer stuff as I just recently got a car. I do however have an extensive amount of computer knowledge. I am not trying to install a full fledged computer in my car. What I am shooting for is an external hard drive most likely mounted in the glove box to hold MP3 Music and Video files. I want this hard drive to hook up to a In Dash touchscreen monitor and be able to play the files off of the hardrive. I dont see this to be extremly difficult as all external hard drives this days have a USB adapter and all of the In Dash video monitors I was looking at have USB ports. I am curious though if I can run a program such as windows media player or something to navigate through the music files with on the indash video. Also I am wondering If I will have to have a seperate Power source for the hard drive??? If anyone can help me with some of this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

So, what's going to run the "media player"?

The drive is only storage, where's the hardware to run an OS?

Monitors are only that. Monitors. No real hardware (other than the controller board), no OS.

I think you need to do a little more reseach.

Cheers

BJ

Comment

wait...are you planning to connect your hard drive directly to your monitor through usb wire?

Comment

well when I think about it does make sense. but i guesse i was confused because I was looking at the in dash monitors today on onlinecarstero.com and they were running off ipods and it makes sense because the ipod is the running the media player. I think I may have to do this instead but with hooking ipods up to the touch screen monitor is it easy to navigate files???

And Yes i was planning to hook up my harddrive directly to the monitor through a USB wire.

Comment

Originally posted by LilJake351 View Post