'87 Ford Crown Victoria?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '87 Ford Crown Victoria?

I Am thinking of buying an '86 Ford Crown Victoria, and was wondering if anyone can tell me if I'll have any issues building a carputer regaurding electrical.. Fabrication seems like it would be fantastic in this car, but I'm wondering if the lictrical is sub par? It's old, yeah, but it has power windows, seats, locks, everything like that..

Thanks for moving topic, my appologies on mis-location in the first place.

Comment

I'm no expert on the subject, but outside a strong alternator and fresh battery I don't think there is much to worry about. Most of the wires you will be running will be your own.

Comment

01 vic here. no problems running dual batteries on stock 130amp alternator. doing it for almost 2 years. stock alt still going.
        The MC of Florida Car PC Meets
        CAR:2001 Ford Crown Victoria
        PC: Acer EEE 900HA with Win7 with CF 2.0.
        Memory:1G
        Drives:160gig
        WI-FI:Cingular
        GPS:IG2k9
        Screen:Xenarc 700TSV
        The Florida Meets Thread

Comment

John1701: Could you mspaint me a diagram of that? are they series or parallel? I know electronics, but I'm completely new to automotive. I'll have to go see how it all works out.. Hopefully the rating is on my alternator.

Comment

Originally posted by XHorntail View Post
            I Am thinking of buying an '86 Ford Crown Victoria, and was wondering if anyone can tell me if I'll have any issues building a carputer regaurding electrical.. Fabrication seems like it would be fantastic in this car, but I'm wondering if the lictrical is sub par? It's old, yeah, but it has power windows, seats, locks, everything like that..
            I had an '86 Crown Victoria (that was my favorite car of all time, even to this day anyways, back your [future] installation...