No announcement yet.

Hello Everyone. Just another New Person.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello Everyone. Just another New Person.

Hello everyone. First I have to say that you guys have a nice place going on here. I spent alot of my freetime (What little I have) surfing around the forums and been getting some great ideas. My thanks to everyone who participates in the forums making this place great.

Now down to why I decided to join in on the game. About a year ago I left the USN (after 6 long years). I was an Aviation Electrician. Well, lets say that slowly I been losing all my knowledge and decided that I needed to get back into it. I also just bought a 2001 Trans AM WS6. I decided that building a car pc would be a great way to rewelcome myself to the world of electronics.

Just to introduce my idea and goals, I am going to show what I got planned right here and definitely would like everyones ideas and suggestions as well. After I get my plan more concrete I am definitely going to start a worklog and go from there.

Rough Diagram (I drew this up at work with MS Paint when I was bored one night)

Sorry, got a little blurry after the resize

My first plan is to create a trim to house the Touchscreen in the dash of my car (Many thanks to Curiosity, your guide gave me alot of ideas and I hope mine turns out half as nice as yours)

This is a list of items that I have prety much decided on for now and will add to later.

LCD: Liliput 7' Touchscreen. I found a model that is a little wider and not as tall that will make the fabrication of a bezel a little easier when i get started.

Motherboard: None really picked but will be Mini-ITX due to the size since its going in my dash behind the LCD.

RAM: just a 512 stick should be plenty

Hard Drive: 40 Gig Laptop HD (May upgrade later)

Sound: A soundblaster live card will fill my one PCI slot and i will use that to send the signal to my two amps.