No announcement yet.

new to this, need council for a setup!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new to this, need council for a setup!

Hi all,

I'm very new to this stuff of putting computers into cars. However, it looks like the best choice for my main purpose with my car... it is to have a single touch screen that lets me:

- manage music (stored in an iPod) having a proper GUI to do so, showing real time information about the playing track as well as letting me surf thru my library in a confortable way.

- have a GPS.
    - have a bluetooth hands free set to use the cell phone.

Usual devices that appear to do that are not good for me by now. Pioneer's AVIC D3 or Tom Tom 910 appear to do all those things but i'm not confident they do ALL things well. By the way the can play divx and dvds, very useful functionality, huh...

In most of the exposed assemblies that people has done with carpc's, they cover mostly the main needs, although i haven't seen much focus in the ipod integration.

That's why i ask you, the experts, what would you choose if you were me?

Oh! almost forgot it.. i'm checking all options, both a 2DIN computer or a completely home made system. i guess the most important thing appart from how to integrate whatever into the car, is what software would fit my need?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Cheers,

nreeek

I'd suggest to start by searching the forums and ask more about specifics, This site isn't ment to spoon feed people solutions for their car computers, Look and find ideas of your own. I started out just like you and now with about a month of watching the site i have about 4 different plans i could do for my car.
    Planned ... 95%
    Purchased 25%
    Installed ... 0%

WorkLog

Comment

well, that's a nice start

I actually have two possibilities:

1- a 2 din computer system directly placed in the factory radio gap.