Newbie, Confused?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie, Confused?

I'm a newbie here, what's up? I can't make up my mind on whether to get a Streetdeck G4, or an aftermarket in dash navigation. I really don't see the justification of paying 2,000 or so for it since I'm only gonna use it for navigation and listening to music. I really don't see myself using all that web browsing, notes, etc. The only thing that I really like is the map interface. Would I be able to install this in an aftermarket in dash?

You mean put PC software on a regular CE based HU? No.

And there are other options than the G4. For instance, my entire setup including screen, wires, parts, was $600. Much less than a HU.

If you will barely use navigation, then just get a regular non-nav HU, and get a Garmin or TomTom or something. This friday most stores have $80 or $100 standalone nav units.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

Comment

So the StreetDeck North America software would not work with aftermarket in dash receivers if I put the CD in?

Comment

no.

Streetdeck is PC software.
        A HU runs (usually) WIndows CE software which is locked down in firmware. You cannot run standard PC software on something that is not a standard PC... Not really that hard.
        15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more

Comment

Originally posted by 2k1Toaster View Post
          no.

Streetdeck is PC software.
          A HU runs (usually) WIndows CE software which is locked down in firmware. You cannot run standard PC software on something that is not a standard PC... Not really that hard.
          meh.. thats not entirely correct, you can always run emulators my idol =p
          2004 Impreza WRX CarPC Install