Newb- Need advice on setup

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb- Need advice on setup

Ok, so I have a complete newb question here.

I have a 1995 Mazda RX-7 and I am looking to create a setup for my car. My main uses for this will be GPS, Music & Diagnostic Information. I am in the stage of checking to see where things fit in the car for a screen.

I have come to the conclusion that an in-dash system using the DIN area would not work as it is way to low for the driver to view without creating a road hazard (see first picture). This leaves me with three options.

Option #1: Redo the center console to move the HVAC controls down and move the DIN openings higher to incorporate the screen. I would be using a slim DVD drive that is slot loaded for media/programs. This would require a lot of fab work for the console and probably a lot of trial and error on a semi-expensive piece.
    This would be my idea here

Option #2: From the factory, 3rd Gen RX-7s come with a center speaker. This is cut out when you use an aftermarket stereo. Right now it is dead space and would give me a lot of room for wiring and such for a screen to be hidden. The only problem with this would be that a 7” screen may be too large for this area as it will be too much of an obstruction. I could probably get away with a 5.6” VGA touchscreen overlay and hack another monitor. This would leave the DIN area for the slim DVD drive and USB ports and such.
    Here is my rough drawing

Option #3: This would be the most basic and ugly option. It would simply involve mounting the screen on the passenger side of the console using the provided mount. This would save a lot of fab work but would not look stock (which is what I am going for).

Why don't you go with a flip out screen? The screen would open right over yoru AC controls and be at a higher position then option 1. PM me if you need a screen as such

Comment

Originally posted by salvi View Post