Should I get into this?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I get into this?

Yo guys, i'm a newcomer here...this seems like a cool hobby and really interests me. unfortunately, i don't even have my license yet (I'm 16, getting it this June). I'm planning on getting a new-ish tacoma for my first car, because that'll be my work truck as well as my personal truck.

Anyway, my question is...do you think it's a good idea for me to go putting a carpc in my truck? I'm a good driver, and still have 6 months of future experience before I get my license.

Also, since i'm only going to be 17 with a summer job, and having to pay for gas and partial insurance, my setup has to be on a budget. fortunately, i work for a place that pretty much specializes in surveillance systems, access systems, etc. so we have plenty of computer parts and whatnot..plus a guy i work with has upwards of 8 laptops and i'm sure he's willing to help me out, because he loves these types of things too.

thanks for reading...and thanks for introducing me to this awesome hobby

do you think it's a good idea for me to go putting a carpc in my truck?
    That all depends on what you want the CarPC to do. If you want to do it simply to have a PC in the car then don't bother.

Comment

no, i want it there as a jukebox, gps navigator, diagnostics computer, and probably a couple other things i haven't thought of yet

Comment

I don't understand how you can be a good driver but not have a license yet.

99% of people, when asked, will say they are good drivers. 75% of them are wrong.
        Originally posted by ghettocruzer
        I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
        Want to:
        -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
        -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment