Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I know if I have an ATX motherboard?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I know if I have an ATX motherboard?

OK I know it's a total newb question but that's why I'm in this forum right?

I just got an Opus 150 and I need to know how to connect everything. The computer is an HP but I don't know that much more about it I bought it off e-bay to get started with my car pc project. So how can I tell if its an ATX or not?

Would a carnetix have been a better way to go? I like the features of the Opus and i want to make it work so what do I need to do?

If the computer is less than 10 years old, it's an ATX. Not totally true, but for the most part, yes.

Comment

Originally posted by jontz View Post
      If the computer is less than 10 years old, it's an ATX. Not totally true, but for the most part, yes.
      Not true at all. And actually becoming less true nowadays with shuttle PCs using proprietary connectors.

HP is very guilty of this. As is their Compaq line (HP bought Compaw a while ago). Easiest way is to look at the motherboard. If you see this connector:

Then it is most usually ATX compiant.

If you are talking about ATX referring to physical size, then the way to tell is by using a scale and measuring the dimensions.
      Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
      1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
      30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
      15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
      Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

Comment

Originally posted by 2k1Toaster View Post
        Not true at all. And actually becoming less true nowadays with shuttle PCs using proprietary connectors.