Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound Feedback Issues

Hello,
    I apologize in advance if this is the wrong section, but my question sounds like a newbie one to me. This is my first project so i thought i would show what I've done and ask for help. The car is a fully built 93 mazda miata turbo. Here are my specs so you know what your advising on:

Specs:

Jetway C7 mobo 1.5 ghz
    M1-ATX PSU w/ startup-shutdown controller
    Low profile case
    RAM - Kingston DDR2-533
    a 40 gb laptop drive
    Xenarc 7" touch screen

Now I installed the PC and it runs fine.. sound is run through a 1/8" to RCA split into my headunit. I am experiencing awful feedback from the PC at this point. I thought possibly this was a grounding issue so I checked all grounds. My main power and ground are coming from the battery, with the acc off my fuel pump line. I have also grounded the case and the metal "mounting board" inside the case to the car body (seat bolt). I have been experimenting by only "partially" putting in the 1/8" creating a "mono" effect, and this completely removes the feedback. Is this an onboard sound issue? I have read multiple threads on "ground" loop, but I believe I certainly grounded properly. Any help would be useful. I will be going to radio shack to attempt the "ground loop isolator" tomorrow.

Pic of my installed product fiberglassed into the dash:

The PC:

Here is the car:

1.63L - GT2871 - MegaSquirt- ~2k lbs.

acc off the fuel pump is probably a problem. why not use the one from your radio harness?

Comment

You call it feedback, but it sounds like some other type of oscillation. Possibly some kind of missmatch between yr HU and computer audio out.

I had a hiss in my system only on one of the amps, so I did buy the Radio Shack grnd loop isol. It worked perfectly, and I did an exhaustive A/B test to determine if insertion of the isol affected my audio quality - no degradation that I could hear...