Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need mass storage for music. Is a carpc needed?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need mass storage for music. Is a carpc needed?

I will save everyone the "im a newbie" bs, you will find this out on your own.
    I drive an 08 Explorer and plan on installing an after market system. ive been looking at quite a bit of HU's and none of the ones that i have found are able to store/read music greater than 4g, this is a problem for me...I know i can go the whole 160g ipod route but do not want to..I simply want something (for now) that i can store mass amounts of music on (search and find music instead of scrolling through an *** ton of songs). Whether i can intergrate into the after M HU or if i need a whole carpc instead. If i do need a carpc, i do not need to surf the web, control my whole vehicle or trim toenails. As i said, for now, i simply would like to have something that can store an *** tone of music on, and possibly upgrade later.

BTW ive searched for threads about connecting carpcs to stereos. All the thread i find are about stock stereos and i have read very little on preamp outs that the carpcs may/may not have...this is one of my worries with this carpc thing, the wiring....

for those that need/are interested heres everything..
    08explorer
    200a alty big 3
    yellow top
    kin 2400
    jl 300/2
    hex500
    2 15 IXL
    Orion 5000d

there are some players that can play directly from a hard drive so you dont really NEED a carpc, but it would definately be a fun project
    2003 Nissan Xterra Worklog

Total amount spent so far: $1196.64

You will probably spend AT LEAST 2x what you initially budget for your CarPC Project!

2003 Nissan Xterra - Modifications

Comment

if all you want your system to do is play music, then no you don't need a carPC.

there are a few high end head units available that have internal HDDs. but the HDDs are small and don't leave much room for user files.