Integrating a camera into a Car PC

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Integrating a camera into a Car PC

My boss, who works in real estate, often gives me little side projects to keep me busy. His new side project is a car PC setup for his 2007 Mini Cooper.

He wants to be able to take pictures from his car of real estate properties and upload them to his website from the road. He does not have the camera yet, nor the car PC setup.

I am posting in the Newbie forum because I am totally new to the car PC scene and don't know much about what's involved. I have, however, been building desktop computer for almost 10 years so I am very familiar with hardware and software configurations. I have also read the basic FAQs here so I am familiar with car PC specifics like power inverters and such. I have a feeling that the trickiest part of this whole project is going to be the software.

I would want the computer to detect that a picture has been taken and have it immediately displayed on some sort of touch screen. (The camera will most communicate via bluetooth, but I'm not sure what kinds of bluetooth cameras are on the market.) At a basic level, the screen would present three options: Discard, Save, and Upload. Also, if there is no wifi signal available, the upload option would have to be grayed out and there would have to be some way to upload saved photos at a later time (when there is a wifi signal). If possible, however, I would like to integrate a very basic photo editor into the touch screen, allowing the user to crop the image, as well as adjust brightness, contrast, and size. How feasible would this be?

I'm most likely going to use Wifi for internet access, but I'm unsure how to provide a simple upload feature as described above. Anyone have any suggestions?

I really appreciate the help.

(subscribe to watch the answers)
    MY build...a walk thru, finally getting to it

Comment