No announcement yet.

Brand new member! My CarPc project and a little bit about me.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brand new member! My CarPc project and a little bit about me.

Hey everyone my name is Deano I'm 21 (22 on the 19th of this month) I'm from England. I currently own a 2000 BMW Z3. I am a vehicle technician (fancy mechanic if you want to put it that way) working for Ford.

For a long time I wanted to build my own desktop PC for home use. It took me a little while to finally get my rear in to gear but once I had bought all the components it took me a few days to get it all up and running. After completeing my desktop I then had the urge to do it again. As I said earlier it did take me a little while to build the cpu in the first place and I finished the computer about 18 months ago, the urge is still strong and putting a pc in a car really appeals to me.

So I have been doing a little bit of research here and there and it didn't take me very long at all to stumble upon this little gem of a website. Now I am really getting ready to start this little project. I'm not sure whether the project will end up in the Z3 or a Mazda RX-8 or possibly a Nissan 350z.

The use for the Car PC. In my opinion having a pc in your car is pretty cool, regardless of what it runs but that would be a waste of potential. The main uses for the PC would be listening to music, watching DVD's, sat nav, using my mobile phone through bluetooth and maybe access to the internet.

I plan on buying most of my stuff from the store. Do you guys think that is a good idea or should I shop around for other stuff? What sort of set up would you recommend I go for.

I have a very small bit of experience in comps but when it comes to programmes I'm useless so I have alot of reading to do around here before I get up and running, I do plan on buying all of the hardware first though so that at least I could have it running.