X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi from Melbourne AU

Hey guys,

Long time lurker - first time poster.

I've been playing around car audio for a few years now and I'm slowly (but reluctantly) coming around to the idea of a carPC.

Most, if not all, my experiance with other people carPCs has been disapointing so I'm hoping with the help from you guys I'll be able to either compile something suitable - or beable to track down someone who can build something suitable for me.

I have fairly basic computer skills.

Basically the reason I'm looking to setup a carPC is because to do what i want with "car audio" products im looking at the wrong side of AUD $7000 RRP without installation - ouch!

What I am after is a touchscreen for navigation and "tuning" controls.

Im after "hardware" buttons for functions such as [<<previous] [Next>>] [Play / Pause] [Navigation] etc (I have an Ultramarc I-Pac for this - now I just need to workout how to make or get backlit plastic buttons around the 15 x 10mm size)

Rotary volume control - THIS IS SUPER IMPORTANT! I know it can be done with things like the Griffin PowerMate but I've also read of the complaints with this setup. Also I'm looking for a more "accurate" volume control than the crappy windows "mixer". I've been looking at the possiblity of using a "spinner" from a MAME setup.

I also want to be able to play back movies stored on a HDD on the rear screens - ideally 2 different movies! and have the ability to control these screens from the front of the vehicle. Also I want to have these screens beable to have their own RF head phones and volume control etc.

Bluetooth phone - this is really important as I use this car as a work vehicle as well - but I dont want to have to dial on screen. I want hardware based buttons (again plastic and backlit)

I have plenty of room so realestate for these buttons is not a drama.