Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jeep Liberty Project

Hello people.
    I've been visiting mp3car.com for almost 2 years now.
    I have had 2 vehicles I have always wanted to put a PC in.
    I am a software developer, super g33k and these are the things I like to do
    Anyways.
    Let me tell you what I've got so far.
    I have a PC under my passenger seat in my jeep. Its a small form factor compaq PC I bought a while back.
    Its not made for a car, its nothing special really.
    It just happened to fit under the seat and so I went with it.
    Its a 2.2GHz Celeron. W00t!
    I cant even remember how much ram it has. prob a gig.
    This PC is running Windows XP sp2.
    I've had this pc in my jeep for 1 year now. I had a wifi router in my jeep hooked up to the carPC. I then would connect to my "roaming" hotspot and VPN to my carPC to use it. Lame. but it worked.
    the only thing I did with my carPC at this time was for a camera.
    I installed a cam in the front of my jeep. I ran cables to my carPC and it was able to record video on my trips. I then did time lapse vidoes, like this one:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqBK0lAY7Qw
    This was fun. The videos were cool to watch.
    I got bored with it, and wanted something more.
    I got my cell phone to connect to my carPC over BT.
    I then can share internet to my carPC (and, side note, using ICS, i can share the internet over the wifi router, meaning anyone within range can have free internet. People love playing PSP or DS over the internet while on the road. fun stuff)

After getting internet on my carPC, i wanted the ability to send pictures from my cam to the internet, in real time.
    This way people can see my trip.
    I use webcamXP to manage my cams in my jeep. WebcamXP lets me auto HTTP post a picture at a given interval. I wrote a quick ASP.NET application that takes these pictures, and puts them into my webpage.
    thats here:
    http://jeepcam.nukernet.com