No announcement yet.

My first project. All help wanted in all sections. Just need a few pointers :S

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first project. All help wanted in all sections. Just need a few pointers :S

Hi
    This is my first project and it will be going into a fiat brava. I already have a micro-atx motherboard with 512mb of RAM and I am planning on putting a P4 630 cpu into it. I would like it to be displayed onto a 7" touch screen monitor that I am going to put into the place of the OEM head unit.

I need to know is what PSU will I need for this?
    Best option so far : M4-ATX
    http://linitx.com/viewproduct.php?prodid=12004

I was planning on having a 5400rpm 2.5" laptop hdd as I heard there is not much performance difference between a 7200rpm one and also uses less power. I also thought that a laptop one would withstand more bumps and stuff than a 3.5" desktop one.
    Best so far : 250 GB Samsung HM250JI
    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/250-G...MB-Cache-12-ms

Is the best way to power the monitor from a 12V output on the PSU? Is there anything I need to look for in a 7" touch screen monitor? For example brightness or power consumption?
    Best so far : Lilliput 619GL70 7" touch screen LCD monitor
    http://www.allcam.biz/catalog/produc...products_id=99

Audio outputs on PC's are like the pre-amp on stereos right? If so, can that just go from a 3.5mm jack into the 2 phono pre-amp input ports the amp?
    Stupid question, the only way that I would be able to adjust the volume would be using the windows volume adjuster, when I have it set to max will the volume be extremely loud like if I set my stereo volume to max?

Any other things that I need to know or should think about please tell me.
    Any hints on the install please don't keep to yourself .

Thanks
    JM

Are there any power serious power issues with having a PC in a car like battery running flat? (Solved)
    Car: Ford Focus