Newbie wondering if i should get a car pc

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie wondering if i should get a car pc

Hi im new to this and have been reading around here for a few days and have had an idea on how to build my own car pc but cost is going to be an issue so thats why i was wondering if it would just be better to buy a head unit and leave it at that.

well i was thinking of getting a second hand laptop (preferably with a broken screen so i can get it even cheaper), a touch screen monitor to go in the dash and an amp and sub.

I havnt done anything like this before (havnt had an amp and sub before either) so i was wondering how much would all of this cost and would it be possible to wire all the car speakers, sub and amp to the laptop and if so how?

also having read lots of stuff here most people are creating PC's to use in their cars and not laptops, why is that? wouldnt a laptop be much easier to remove when needed, and its smaller so it takes up less space and cos its a laptop it has its own battery so when you are in the car doing waiting for someone you can still use it without having to start up the car

Sounds like you have a lot of research ahead of you. Hit up the FAQ section first. That will probably give you the answers to a few questions you've asked. http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/advfaq.php

Now as far as cost, that all depends on what hardware you go with. And the laptop vs desktop debate, that's all really a matter of preference.
    Tidder

Try RevFE
    The best resurrected frontend I've ever used, period.

I Wish I could ban people

Comment

Yea like tidder said hit up the FAQ section and do a lot of searching.

I started out in the same position as you, never done any wiring in my car, no amp, no aftermarket radio. And now I have done the whole car computer deal in one and I'm planning it out for my new car.