my first project, but unsure of what i am doing so anyone help please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my first project, but unsure of what i am doing so anyone help please

I have a 95 gmc yukon. I have noticed (or i think) it is almost impossible to install a double din gps navigator or dvd player in my dash, as it is single din. Im assuming i can fabricate my own custom one but might need a lot of modification in order to install the 2 din gps dvd player which i got handed down from an uncle.

It's an Eclipse AVN6600. Now how do can i manually test it without installing it?

I would like to install this 2 din dvd player if possible but im unsure of how much work it will take for this or would it be impossible to the point i should just keep the single din so i dont F something up as i am new to this.

i hope you guys can help i would really appreciate any input. especially if theres a way to test the gps, or of any shops in the bayarea (san francisco area) where i could go to get it checked or repaired?

Thank You

I'm going to make a quick post but refuse to help you further until you fix at least some of your grammatical mistakes.

Is the Yukon double DIN or just single DIN?
    to test it you can just wire up the negative/positive wires of the deck directly to the battery. To test sound and features, you'll have to install it.
    Ampie Case
    2.5" Hard Drive 80GB Samsung 5400RPM
    256 MB DDR2 PC5400
    Xenarc 700TSV - VGA Monitor
    Intel D945GCLF Motherboard
    M2-ATX-HV

2005 Honda Civic

Comment

i beleive 95-99 GM trucks/suv's all used a 1.5 din dash opening, hence the problem with the 2 din radio.

Personally, i would power up the radio, make sure it works, and then sell it for a car computer....
      My OLD 2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT:
      "The Project That Never Ended, until it did"

next project? subaru brz
      carpc undecided

Comment

Originally posted by Maheriano View Post