create media center for my truck.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• create media center for my truck.

Hello, I am very new to using forums as I normally can search around the web and find the answers for most of my questions. This time I found myself in un-charted waters.

I have a Asus eee 2g pc. It came pre-installed with a micro version of Linux. First thing I did was to delete the partitions on the c:, create 1 primary partition and format it. I then installed Windows xp pro from a usb flash drive and installed all the system hardware listed in the device manager.

I have a 1985 ford f-150, these trucks have huge dash boards and I thought a good project would be to open the dash and install this mini laptop into the dash, add some usb extenders and a wireless finger mouse.
    The 7 inch screen of this laptop is all that will be exposed from the dash. I want to use this laptop in my dash as a complete media center for my truck, as well as a gps through usb.

At this point I am nearly ready to install the laptop into the dash, but 1 problem is still kicking me. But i need to slightly explain it first..

I have the car charger for this laptop, it only runs at 9 volts. I want to wire the car charger from my ignition switch so the laptop would not consume battery power from my truck when not in use. The problem im having is getting the laptop to go into standby or hibernation when the truck key is off, and then come back out of standby or hibernation when I start the truck.
    Ia am install all but the 7 inch screen into the dash, so the keyboard and power button will both be unavailable. I found on this site where a guy had made a small piece of software to do just about what im working on, I downloaded it and clicked to open the .exe, and I just get the windows error tone and a error box telling me this "the application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135) click ok to terminate the application."
    So Im stuck at this point.