What power supply to use

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What power supply to use

I am new to the CarPC area. The main thing that I am worried about is applying power to the unit. I have skimmed the forums and have found nothing. I am looking to buy the LIAN LI PC-Q09A which has an 80W DC to DC converter and can be found on newegg. If the power input is 12V would this alone suffice? Or should I have a regulator as well? Again, I apologize for asking something that seems so simple but I wouldn't be very happy if I just bought everything to fry it the moment I power it on.

Thanks in advanced.

What exactly you want to power a desktop or laptop? If its a desktop go for one of the supplys like the M2-atx then will work with your ignition

Comment

No that isn't really appropriate for a car PC. The DC-to-DC converter, from what I've read on here (I don't have one of those myself), needs a regulated 12V supply. So you'd need to buy another regulator, spending even more money. And you still needs a startup/shutdown controller (more money).

Instead, if you want to shop on Newegg for a case, get one without a power supply, and add something like an M2-ATX, which can be hooked directly to your vehicle's 12V, and has an integrated startup/shutdown controller. Or get a case from here in the mp3car.com store, one that includes the appropriate power supply.

Hope this helps!
      -- Kevin

Comment

Originally posted by SolveEtCoagula0 View Post
        I am new to the CarPC area. The main thing that I am worried about is applying power to the unit. I have skimmed the forums and have found nothing. I am looking to buy the LIAN LI PC-Q09A which has an 80W DC to DC converter and can be found on newegg. If the power input is 12V would this alone suffice? Or should I have a regulator as well? Again, I apologize for asking something that seems so simple but I wouldn't be very happy if I just bought everything to fry it the moment I power it on.