MP3Car Head unit help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MP3Car Head unit help

Ok I am new to the MP3 car scene but have done quite a bit of searching. However I may not be searching the right stuff.

I want to put a computer in my car. I also still want the capability to use FM radio or XM if needed.

The only head unit that I have found that will allow you to combine the FM radio and the car computer is the Xenarc MDT X7000 which is no longer available.

Does anyone know of a head unit that will provide the same feature so that I do not have to get a seperate monitor for the car computer.

I want to use one system not too.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!!

Josh

Welcome to mp3car! The MDT X7000 was a piece of crap in my opinion. Way too many issues for the price you paid for it. I don't know of any head units that provide a screen and touch input for a PC. You can however get an external serially controlled FM or XM radio. The Directed or Visteon HD radios are a bit hard to find, but they're fairly good units that provide FM as well as HD radio. The mp3car store also sells a few serially controlled radios. Most of the popular frontends provide graphical interfaces for these radios, completely eliminating the need for a head unit for radio.

The only thing you will need is an amplifier for the rest of your speakers, but that's no more difficult than installing a carpc.
    "stop with the REINSTALLS, what do you think we got some lame-o installer!!!" - mitchjs
    RevFE
    My Shop

Comment

so with that being said then I can actually use any head unit with a vga port....

any suggestions besides lilliput or xenarc??

Comment

there really aren't any other ones... technically, there are a couple of other brands, but all motorized screens seem to suffer similar problems, and at this time, i could not in good faith recommend any of them for consistent use...