Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best way to power carputer? Please help a newbie!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best way to power carputer? Please help a newbie!

Hello everyone

I'm quite new to this carputer business so let's cut to the chase:

After reading much about the new Lilliput VGA screens, I bought one...very happy with it (didn't get the Jurassic Park or Asian woman ghost image!).

Now comes to the part of powering all this in a 4 door Civic without setting fire to anything. I've been readying various options that people use to power their devices...from inverters, to connecting it directly to the battery of the car and even putting a 2nd battery in the trunk that is connected to the car somehow!

I'm thinking of putting a 90W laptop and the Lilliput VGA Touchscreen. Maybe one day a Shuttle PC (I think those don't each too much power).

My first question is: What do YOU think is the best way of powering the two things I require in the car? I tried an 175w inverter with the laptop and screen, works fine...but man does the inverter get hot! Even with the built in fan it gets bloody hot!

2nd question: Does using an inverter for long periods of time (say 3 hours) with the 90w laptop and screen cause any damage to the car? If so, what should be my alternative? Thanks!

The very best thing you could do would be to get an Opus, if you were using a standard ATX PC.

The Opus is a pure DC-DC solution, with ignition sensing and shutdown controller. Do a for Opus and you'll find lots of solutions!

However, as you're going to be using a laptop, then unless you can get a cigarette lighter adapter for it to run it on 12v, then you will have to go for the invertor route. However, that adds unnecessary conversions from 12vDC to 110/220vAC to 12vDC.