Laptop Vs permanent in car computer?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laptop Vs permanent in car computer?

I am new to the carputer and was just wondering people exp. what is perfered. In either case I would have a LCD in dash. However since the laptop is a more rugged solution and can be removed would it not be a better choice? I am just trying to consider options before I jump into this head first.

So which do you prefer....

1. laptop with LCD in dash screen?

2. opus,Mpia board with all the goodies in a custom build glovebox inclosure?

Laptop has its benifits; Performance (compared to Via Boards),Compact size, Less power issues, With some work you can glass the LCD panel into the dash and get a touchscreen to go over with it. Disadvantages are HD space, and a way to use the CD-Rom Drive, Price maybe a concern.

Via Boards, are usually cheap solutions. For an MP3 Player only it may seem suitable. Some will agree that other than MP3/Music, They dont perform well in other aspects. Since im biased against via boards from benchmarking alone, and seen on this forum people replacing the via boards with something with more performance, Ill let some one else fill in anything good about them.

Comment

Good Question