Carputer vs. regular HU

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carputer vs. regular HU

Not trying to discourage anyone, because I'm a newbie I am still debating whether or not to build one of these carPCs or carputers. My main beef is that booting up process seems cumbersome if my only purpose is to listen to tunes on the way to the grocery... I'd be there before the OS initializes! Of course, there is hibernation and it's what I would do, but I know that there will be required reboots. I have some HUs in mind that would play mp3s and whatnot (no booting too). What do you think is the difference between the shelf bought multimedia centers with built in lcd and the carputer as far as hardware/software integration? I mean is all the software that drives the aftermarket HUs written from the ground up and small enough to be embedded in onbaord memory? Anybody ever taken one of these things apart to see what components are in there?...

i dont know about the second part of your question, but to answer the first:

people on this board are interested, for the most part, in a carputer being able to do what they want. If all you want is to listen to tunes, on your way to the store, save your time and money and get an iPod or a HU that plays MP3 CDs, or even an MP3 CD changer (i thinnk there is one in the FS/Wanted section)....

but if you want to be able to watch DVDs/Divxs while you are waiting at the store for someone or perhaps for your passenger (an impatient child???) on long trips, to be able to do GPS, to record and log data with OBDII/VAG type system, to get the internet in your car, and to control it all from a touch screen, THEN you should build a carputer.

Im not discouraging building a simple unit, but if you are concerned about boot time for "just music", then you should look for a solution which requires no boot time. You will just sacrafice all teh things that come with running an OS instead of a HU.