Fiberglass Basics...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fiberglass Basics...

I know there are numerous threads on Fiberglassing here but so far I have been unable to find a basic guide to it. I would like to know what I need and what each part is for. Specifically for dashboard fabrication. Thanks
    2003 Subaru Impreza TS
    Staus: Done.. too lazy to make pictures lol.

i'm no expert ... so i may be wrong with some of this but ...

What you need:
    - Fiberglass (sheet, mat, or goop)
    - fiberglass resin
    - filler (most people around here use bondo, but there are others)
    - lots of sand paper, different grits
    - a dremel is helpful

The basic idea is the fiberglass provides the basic shape and the strength. Then the bondo, or other filler, makes it smooth.

There's two basic fiberglassing tecniques (sp) that I know of. The first is using resin and a fiberglass mat. You spread the resin, lay the mat down, and resin on top of the mat. The mat will harden and you can sand away.

The second is using what i call goop. It's the fiberglass in a can stuff ... from what I know of this you have a can of resin and a bag (or can) of fiberglass shavings. You mix the two together and spread it on with a paintbrush. (someone correct me if i'm wrong) ... from what I understand this is used on larger areas ... people build a frame for what they're glassing, stretch fleece (or some other fabric) over the frame, and then paint the goop on.

bondo also makes some filler with fiberglass in it too.

in either case, after the glass is done you use bondo to smooth it all out. This consists of spreading the bondo, letting it dry ... sanding ... sanding ... sanding ... sanding some more ... then more bondo ... then sanding ... (you get the idea) ... until it's smooth.

really the best way to learn is to buy some stuff and practice on some scrap wood or something.

hth
    My JeepPC Install

"there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."