Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Carputer/Headunit All In One Setup: Is it Possible?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carputer/Headunit All In One Setup: Is it Possible?

Hey everyone, I'm new to the MP3car forum. I'm really interested in installing a carputer along with a TFT VGA touchscreen like the lilliput or xenarc ones.

I also want to be able to listen to the radio, listen to MP3s, watch DVDs and set up GPS Navigation.

I also want to do this without having to use an additional headunit which would be set to the auxillary port input the whole time.

I've heard that you can run RCA audio jacks from the stereo output of the Carputer straight into the car's amplifier.
    Would this reduce the sound quality?

Also, could I somehow still listen to the radio using a radio tuner card in the carputer? If so, how could I connect my car's antenna to the carputer so that I'd get good reception?

I have a 96 BMW M3 and I'm considering relocating my climate controls so that I could have a double DIN sized hole for the touchscreen, mounting the carputer in the glove box, possibly one like this: carputer
    and then using a stereo jack to dual RCA connectors into the amp.

Let me know what you guys think. Give me any suggestions you have about setup, products, DIY vs. buying a prebuilt one like the on in my link, connections, etc.

Thanks!

Kyle

I don't recomend that particular carputer, but it would work.

*All* of your questions are answered specifically in the Newbie FAQ sticky in this forum (believe me, they really are frequently asked)...read it, and then come back and repost any new questions...we'll be happy to clarify the finer points.

Edited in short answers: You won't lose any sound quality, your setup sounds good, i recomend you build the computer yourself.
    MP3 MR2 (click here for details)
    Hardware: EPIA M10000, 512Meg Ram, 5.6"TFT, Opus 150watt DC-DC PSU
    Software: Windows 2000, Media Engine 2.0

Comment