Help the N00B!!??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help the N00B!!??

Ok...I'm a poor college student who's looking to find a good solid system to function in a car w/o shattering my frail bank account.

Here's what I'm looking to do:
    Video/DiVX
    MP3/compressed audio
    IN-car DVD/CD's
    GPS live navigation - using standard GPS reciever (such as gps mouse or RadioShack Digitraveler)
    Touch screen interface
    802.11x wireless capabilities.

I need to know of good software to use to accomplish this.
    Also I need to know if there are any temperature issues with placing the computer in the trunk of the car.
    also...what does everyone reccomend for power. I was thinking of using an inverter and UPS and having the computer suspend evertime it went into battery mode...but is there a better way?

Please help...any hints/tips would be great.

Also would like to hook to in-car engine diagnostics port for...I dunno...whatever it'll tell me.

Thanks

i think everyone here is trying to build a good, reliable carputer cheaply. alot of this stuff has already been covered. seeing as this is your first post (hell, i'm still under 10), try the search function. better yet, take a look at hte project's completed forum at the bottom. also, alot of members have thier specs listed in thier sigs.

not ton encourage someone who doesn't use the search function,

1. Software depends on the application. Divx and GPS use two differnet pieces. there is no built in one, but one of the media engine items (Frodo Player, ect.) will try to do it all.
    2. No temperature issues if you don't seal it, but I would not have a fanless rig for the trunk mount.
    3. DC-DC direct power is more effecient than an inverter. and a ups would just kill your battery in the car. you can precharge a ups in the house, then put it in the car, but running suspend evertime you shut down would kill the ups's power in about 20 mins.