RAM for M10000 Nehemiah

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RAM for M10000 Nehemiah

I just ordered my M10000 yesterday and im in the market for some RAM. What type of ram is ideal for the M10000 Nehemiah? What kind do you use? Ive seen sooo many different types and companies on the internet. I dont know where to start. What is the difference between registered, unbuffered, and DDr2? Im a total RAM newb. Please help!

Didn't your Mobo come with a spec sheet of sorts? I'm sure people have been using 256 DDR's
    In da club....

ALIZEE WANTS YOU.....

(\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")
    Bunny's first poo
    __ U

Comment

Registered Ram is ECC. It has an error-checking whosit onboard so that it checks the validity of the stored info when it gets accessed. This is mainly for servers, and you cant use ECC memory in non ECC boards :P but dont worry, ECC memory is quite clearly marked as being such, and it's fricking expensive. (though not quite as expensive as the RAM in my desktop )

i dont know what buffering is, and since i dont, you dont need to know either. i've built many systems and never had a problem with any of them.

the M10000 uses pc2100 DDR memory. i'd advise you to either get a 256 or 512 mb stick of one of the big brands. Kingston, Corsair, or Mushkin. I'd reccommend crucial, but people have had problems with crucial memory in itx boards. crucial makes awesome memory, but sometimes it doesnt play well with via boards. so kingston, corsair, or mushkin.

dont worry about latencies, get the cheapest memory you can from any of those 3, so long as it meets or exceeds pc2100 specs.